AWS Careers Roadmap

AWS Careers Roadmap

A guide to AWS roles

Published Feb 2, 2024
For Newbies and career prospective fellows, starting a career in AWS is a great choice, given the increasing demand for cloud professionals.
We will be going through a brief guide to AWS (Amazon Web Services) roles and a roadmap to help you navigate your journey.
AWS offers a wide range of services, and roles within AWS can vary based on expertise and responsibilities.

AWS Roles:

  1. AWS Solutions Architect:
    • An AWS Solutions Architect is responsible for designing and implementing scalable, highly available, and fault-tolerant systems on AWS.
    • The role Involves understanding customer requirements and translating them into scalable architecture.
  2. AWS Developer:
    • An AWS Developer focuses on developing applications on AWS.
    • The roles Involves writing code, integrating AWS services, and deploying applications.
  3. AWS SysOps Administrator:
    • An AWS SysOps Administrator manages and maintains AWS infrastructure.
    • This Involves tasks like provisioning resources, monitoring, and ensuring system reliability.
  4. AWS DevOps Engineer:
    • This combines development and operations responsibilities.
    • Focuses on automating processes, continuous integration/deployment, and managing infrastructure as code.
  5. AWS Cloud Security Engineer:
    • AWS Cloud Security Engineer Specializes in securing AWS environments.
    • This Involves implementing security best practices, conducting security audits, and responding to security incidents.
  6. AWS Big Data Specialist:
    • An AWS Big Data Specialist works with big data services on AWS.
    • This role Involves designing and implementing scalable, cost-effective solutions for handling and analyzing large datasets.
  7. AWS Machine Learning Engineer:
    • Specializes in designing and implementing machine learning solutions on AWS.
    • Involves training models, deploying them, and optimizing for performance.
  8. AWS Database Administrator:
    • Manages and optimizes AWS database services.
    • Involves tasks such as database design, performance tuning, and backup/recovery.

AWS Certification Roadmap:

  1. Foundational Certification:
    • AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner
  2. Associate Level Certifications:
    • AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate
    • AWS Certified Developer – Associate
    • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate
  3. Professional Level Certifications:
    • AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional
    • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional
  4. Specialty Certifications:
    • AWS Certified Security – Specialty
    • AWS Certified Big Data – Specialty
    • AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty
    • AWS Certified Database – Specialty

AWS Learning Path:

Foundational Knowledge:
Learn the basics of cloud computing and AWS fundamentals.
Core Services:
Deep dive into core AWS services like EC2, S3, RDS, and VPC.
Certification Preparation:
Prepare for the associate-level certification that aligns with your role (e.g., Solutions Architect, Developer, SysOps Administrator).
Advanced Topics:
Explore advanced topics based on your chosen specialization, like machine learning, big data, or security.
Gain Practical Experience:
Work on real-world projects to apply your knowledge and gain practical experience.
Professional Level Certifications:
After gaining experience, pursue professional-level certifications.
Based on your interest, pursue specialty certifications to become an expert in a specific area.
Stay Updated:
AWS evolves rapidly, so stay updated with new services and features.
For more information: